Helen (Like A Felon)

Haha, just kidding.  I Helen’d like… I don’t know, like someone who can’t do pullups yet.  And runs really slowly.

We don’t seem to do the benchmarks too terribly often at our box.  We’re more than welcome to do them on our own; one of my favorite things about our box is that there are no attendance restrictions.  It’s a flat fee (and a very low one at that, as far as CrossFit goes) and we can go in any time the doors are open.  Thursday and Sunday are the official rest days, but they open the box for 3 hours on Thursday and 2 hours on Sunday for “open gym” time.  The coaches are there and available to help you work on things.  I keep meaning to go in to work on my heavy clean technique… and I keep not doing it… but that’s my problem.

ANYWAY.  God, I get so sidetracked.  We don’t do the benchmarks as part of a group WOD all that often.  We did Annie a few weeks after I started, and we did Murph on Memorial Day (we did the full distance/rep scheme but I scaled the shit out of it with burpees instead of pullups, so I’m not sure I actually scaled it at all).  Other than that the only PRs I have on the board are a few lifts and a 2k row.  So I was really happy to be able to put up another hilariously bad PR.

Helen:

  • 400m run
  • 21 KB swings
  • 12 Pullups

3 rounds for time.

I used a 30# KB (which is getting easier; I should be able to Rx that soon!) and I did jumping pullups.  The class was big enough yesterday we had to partner up and stagger our starts; I was sort of bragging to my partner that I’ve finally started being able to do banded pullups, and I was going to try that.  She was like “Knock yourself out, I’m jumping” (only she didn’t say it in a snotty way because she’s really nice).  So I got through the first run, the swings (unbroken! All three rounds, unbroken!), and then as soon as I got my foot in the band my arms were like LOL FUCK OFF and… yeah, I did jumping pullups.

Final time 13:57.  I want to try it again when it’s not so horribly humid (yay, Midwestern summers…).  I suspect I have very slight exercise-induced asthma; sometimes when the humidity is up, I feel like the lower half of my lungs isn’t working.  I’ll take a deep, gulping breath but it feels like it just stops about about halfway down.  It’s not something that really concerns me, but I’m definitely aware of it and I feel like it slows me down a bit sometimes.

Anyway, since that was the whole WOD today, Coach told us to use the time after smacking Helen in the face to work on some of the more advanced moves.  She did a quick n dirty coaching session on rope climbs and handstand pushups; I chose to flog myself for twenty minutes work on my double-unders.  My poor shins took a beating and I never did get one.  I can’t seem to separate my wrist rhythm from my feet; as soon as I start to swing faster, my feet are like “OKAY I GO FAST NOW TOO YAAAAAY JUMPING” and smack goes the rope.

So yeah.  I need to go in on open gym days to work on double unders, heavy cleans, probably shoulder mobility, pullups, maybe some chest strength because I have very little…

Damn.  That’s a pretty busy rest day.

Talk To Me

