5:30AM in the morning

I like the early-morning WOD.  Our gym offers them three days a week; we take advantage of the Friday one, because there’s no 6:30PM one and that’s the only other time we can get to the gym during the week.  We get up at 4:45, pre-dawn even in the summer, which somehow always feels like an adventure.  Puppy is still sleepy, so it’s easy to take her out to pee and stick her right back in her crate without feeling like a horrible person.  We throw on some clothes, chug some water, and we’re out the door before we have a chance to think too much about how sore [body part] is.

It’s not all great, though.  As much as I like getting up early, I’m a slow starter in the mornings.  Mentally I’m okay for that early-morning WOD, but physically, I’m not firing on all cylinders.  My timing is off, I’m sluggish and uncoordinated, I can’t seem to move as freely as usual.  It was the same when I was a runner, but at least that required nothing more than “left foot/right foot/stay on the left side of the road.”

I walked in this morning with my tris, abs, and hamstrings completely shot from Wednesday, so why not get the squat muscles today?  Also I struggle with wall balls at the best of times, so of COURSE we did a lot of them at 5:30 in the morning when I have the mobility of a Lego minifig.

  • 5 squat cleans (ladies’ Rx was 95#, I did 63#)
  • unbroken wall balls (throw it till it hits the floor)

6 rounds, scored by total wall balls.  We worked with a partner; only one person worked at a time, so everyone got some rest while the partner worked.  My partner and I were the first ones done (which was a novel thing for me) but as we were counting by total reps, that’s nothing to brag about.

I no-repped the shit out of those wall balls, but as long as they went up and came back down, I counted them.  I still only got 4 reps on the first round (I maybe probably should have thrown some practice ones before we started…), but I did a lot better on the other rounds, for a total of 63.

It was a relatively short WOD, and we were treated to a fantastic sunrise on the way home.  I had my bacon, eggs, and coffee, puppy went for her morning constitutional around the property, and it was so nice and not humid, I ventured into the weedpatch garden (seriously, do not judge my garden, it is obscenely weedy right now) and took some pictures.  Behold:

The first of many tomatoes.  I'm going to be nice and let Jason have the first one.

The first of many tomatoes. I’m going to be nice and let Jason have the first one.

Supposedly, we can eat nasturtiums, but they're so pretty I'm not going to.

Supposedly, we can eat nasturtiums, but they’re so pretty I’m not going to.

I'm sorry it kind of looks like a schlong hanging off the vine.  It just grew that way, I couldn't help it.

I’m sorry it kind of looks like a schlong hanging off the vine. It just grew that way, I couldn’t help it.

Zinnias galore!  I do believe next year I want a whole patch of nothing but zinnias.

Zinnias galore! I do believe next year I want a whole patch of nothing but zinnias.

Zinnias, again.  There really are a lot of them out there.  Bolted, useless pak choi in the background.

Zinnias, again. There really are a lot of them out there. Bolted, useless pak choi in the background.

Hey little guy, chillin' on the sunflower bud!  Eat all the bugs you want, and if you feel the need to go vegetarian, there are plenty of weeds you could help me out with.

Hey little guy, chillin’ on the sunflower bud! Eat all the bugs you want, and if you feel the need to go vegetarian, there are plenty of weeds you could help me out with.

Good morning, sunshine!

Good morning, sunshine!

I think this afternoon I’m gonna get mah knit on.  It’s been too long (and hot, just lately).

Talk To Me

