Ask Your Doctor if Getting Off Your Ass is Right For You.

I say that in jest, because I spent too much time on my ass (on the couch) last week, and my back is paying the price.

Yeah.  I CrossFit, and I managed to throw out my back while sitting on the couch.  (WINNING.)

The left side of my spine, about midway down my back, doesn’t really want to do anything right now.  If I twist wrong or ask it to move (even politely!), it hollers in protest and lashes out with spasms and temper tantrums.  I know it’s from the couch, because this has happened before from the exact same thing.  It’s impossible to sit properly on it, and it kicks my pelvis all cattywumpus if I stay on it for any length of time.  I’ve been working on a lot of knitting and other things lately, which means I’ve been spending more time on my butt and less time on my feet.  But I need to work on this knitting, because I’m planning on writing up the pattern for sale.  So there we have it.  Angry back.  We can’t afford a new couch right now, as much as I wish we could, so I’m stuck in the red-headed stepchild chair across the room.  Blah.  (I’m pretty sure the mattress is in cahoots with the couch, because it is equally uncomfortable, and equally out of the budget.)

Anyway, I still went to CrossFit last night, even though I probably shouldn’t have, and I still managed to have a pretty good workout, if not as heavily weighted as I would normally be able to manage.

Started off by having 12 minutes to find our max weight for 2 hang cleans, into 2 front squats, into 2 push jerks, without taking our hands off the bar.  If we needed to rest between reps, that was okay, but we couldn’t let go of the bar.  I managed 73#, which hurt.

Then we were to take that weight and do a 12-minute AMRAP:

  • 5 Deadlifts
  • 4 high box jumps (we could either go up a full box increment from what we normally do, or just put a plate on our normal box for an extra inch or two of lift)
  • 30 DU/50 singles (normally we have a 1:3 exchange rate, but Coach didn’t want us spending too much time on the rope)
  • 2 wall climbs or 5 walk-outs
  • 100m run

YOU GUYS I JUMPED ON A 20″ BOX FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER AND IT WASN’T TOO SCARY.  And almost all of them were good, solid jumps, once I got the height dialed in on my legs.  I was so, SO happy about that.  I managed 3 full rounds and got to 50 singles on the 4th round.  Oh and I was actually deadlifting a 78# bar, because that’s what my partner was using, but I figure an extra 5 pounds isn’t going to be that noticeable in a deadlift.

My back was feeling pretty horrible when I got up this morning, but I haven’t put my lazy butt on the couch once today, and it already feels a wee bit better.  I think I’ll still go to CF tonight, but if there’s heavy lifting involved I may do my own thing instead.  We’ll see.

 

4 responses

  1. Ugh…back injuries suck. LIKE REALLY BAD. I have a weird lower back thing going on too…it’s like it feels okay for a while, and I know I should just go to the chiro and get adjusted…but, then I have to keep going and ….ugh money.

    We have a couch that sinks in places where it shouldn’t …it’s comfy in the wrong places…and it’s just all sorts of bad for the back…but (like you said) not in the budget. Grrr….money.

    Good job for sticking it out, and going to Crossfit.

    1. Thanks. I normally don’t have any real trouble with my back, just the odd twinge here and there if I do something stupid; I can’t even imagine what it would feel like to deal with chronic, long-term back pain. It affects every.single.thing you do.

      I did go tonight, with minimal ouchiness, so I think just staying off the couch will solve the problem. 😛

  2. Yay great jump!!!! Congrats!!!!

    1. Thank you! It was hilarious how quickly I went from OMG OMG OMG I CAN’T DO IT to OMG OMG OMG LOOK I’M DOING IT!

Talk To Me

