Short and Bitter.

Short version: couldn’t work out this morning.

All the frowny faces.  :c :c :c

Here’s how it happened.  When the alarm went off at quarter to dark in the morning, I realized my ribs were not.happy.  It was too early, too dark, too close to last night’s bedtime.  I told Jason, if there are any cleans in the WOD, I’m going to see if I can do something else.  So we get to the box, I wander over to the whiteboard, and I see:

SPRINTS!

  • 300m ROW
  • 30 BALL SLAMS
  • 15 POWER CLEANS

So… yeah.  Cleans.  I walked over to the coach and explained to her the situation, saying that other things haven’t bothered me, just catching a clean hurts.  She said, okay, how about you put a bar on a rack and do some push presses instead?  I said that sounded like it would work, and I proceeded to warm up with the rest of the class.

Well, I got about halfway through the warmup, right up to the little set of jumping jacks.  And I jumped… and I got jacked.  Seriously, it felt like someone walked up and punched me right between the ribs.  Coach happened to be walking by, caught my eyeballs as they popped out of their sockets, and without prompting, I said, “I think I’ll sit this one out.”  She told me to go roll it out, and I tried, but it felt like it made it worse (no surprise, since I’d been trying to roll at home with the same results).  Stretching felt better, so I spent the time while everyone else did the WOD in front of me (*SOB*) with some long, slow pulls, breathing into what felt like a giant bruise.

So lesson learned: if it hurts at home, don’t go in, because it won’t hurt any less in the box.  I’ll probably take tomorrow off, then Sunday is a rest day anyway… hopefully by Monday I can be back at it, if not 100% then at least 85 or 90.

I came home and knitted, watched more old episodes of The Office, and generally felt kind of sorry for myself.  Blah.

Maybe I should take some pictures of my knitting and share them.  This is NeYARNderthal, after all…

4 responses

  1. sorry to hear about your owie….That sucks! I hate watching others workout when I can’t.

    Get rest, get better….knit your ass off!

  2. Boo! That’s no fun!! Be careful!!! Mobilize like crazy!!

  3. I keep thinking it will get better magically, but so far it has never happened. Apparently my easy chair isn’t where the magic happens and the box is where the boo boos start – most of the time.

    Ice helps.

  4. […] it really only one week ago that I went to the 5:30am and had to wimp out?  Crazy.  It feels like a month.  And I know I didn’t really lose much in that week, but I […]

Talk To Me

