I miss CrossFit.

More specifically, I miss:

  • the box.
  • all my friends at the box.
  • the giant fan that sounds like the space shuttle taking off.
  • working out to Eminem and Linkin Park, both of whom I hate in real life.
  • picking up heavy things.
  • putting them down again.
  • running next to the highway, my sweaty, beet-red face on display for half the county to see.
  • playing Guess The WOD in the car with Jason on the way to the box.
  • burpees.
  • (just kidding.)

This being-injured shit can go straight to hell.  I feel like I’ve lost everything I’ve gained since joining, and it’s compounded by the fact that when I do go back (tentatively Friday, unless my rib discontinues the steady improvement it’s made), I will still need to take a little easy with the heavy lifts.  I haven’t been able to work out in a week now, and it feels like a month.

Interestingly, I’m not worried about getting back into the habit of working out.  In the past, when I’ve had to take time off for injury or illness, it was really difficult to get back up on that pony; in fact it usually involved a handful of false starts and, in the case of running, scheduling a race to light a fire under my ass.  (I am extremely motivated by money; if I’ve spent the money on a race, no way in hell am I going to waste it.  The only time I did, it was because I buggered up my ankle during the training process and I couldn’t sell my bib.  70 bucks and a lot of enthusiasm down the crapper on that one.)  But from the beginning, I was totally excited about CrossFit.   As far as exercise goes, that’s a novel feeling.  Exercise has always been an unpleasant chore that makes me sweaty, hungry, sore, and tired.  But CrossFit is all of those things, plus fun and exhilarating!  After the intro, I couldn’t wait to go back to start the real stuff–there’s no ramp-up program at our box; the coaches just have newbies do super-scaled versions of the main WOD.  We hit the ground running, 5 days a week.

AND I MISS IT BAAAAAAAAHHHHHH.

Really though, my ribs feel a whole lot better than they did a few days ago, and I’m happy to be able to turn in my chair to tell Tegan to leave the cat alone without feeling like I’m being stabbed.

And I have gotten a lot of knitting done this week.  I really don’t know if my little designing venture will earn me any money, but I sure hope so!  (Mama needs a new computer.)

Talk To Me

