Day of the Dead(lift)

After the savage beating we endured Saturday morning, I was kind of hoping for something sweet ‘n simple to kick us off on Monday.  With the 6:30pm, it’s pretty easy to tell if you’re in for an unpleasant experience just by looking at the faces of the 5:30 when you walk in.  And I was pleased to see that nobody looked to be on (or over) the verge of death, and only a few were still working out (that class nearly always works in 2 heats, sometimes 3; it’s usually pretty big).  That’s always a good sign.

It’s kind of fun to guess the WOD by just looking at the equipment lying around.  Box jumps were obvious, as were wall balls, and the presence of a dozen really f-ing heavy barbells shouted DEADLIFTS!

I like deadlifts.  I really, really, really like them.  It doesn’t get much more simple than “pick up this big heavy thing.”  I know, I know, it’s not that easy–you have to know the proper way to do it so you don’t paralyze yourself, but… it’s still pretty simple.  I have not yet had the opportunity to find my 1-rep max, but I am looking forward to that day, whenever it is.

So!  Yesterday we had 15 minutes to warm up on deadlifts.  Rx for the WOD was 225/155; I am certain I could pick up 155, but not for the prescribed number of reps.  My partner and I worked our way up to 135#, and both of us agreed that would work fine.

The WOD was 4 rounds of wall balls, box jumps, and deadlifts, 27(12), 21(9), 15(6), and 9(3) reps.  I hope that’s clear (parenthetical reps are the deadlifts).  Coach gave us a time cap of 11 minutes, but told us most of us would get it done in less than ten.

Well, it took me ten minutes and 22 seconds, but whatever, because I picked up 135 pounds, thirty times.  My box jumps were not jumps, they were steps, because I had a 20″ box and pairing them with wall balls is just mean.  But yay deadlifts!  I picked up that big heavy thing!  And I liked it!

One response

  1. Wow. That’s a killer workout. We had to 28 dead lifts and + wall balls today, and that was bad enough!!!

Talk To Me

